Could You Hunt Trolls?

Standard

Troll Hunter Is an amazing movie! It’s done in documentary style, and while at first I thought it was going to be a horror movie it really isn’t. There are some suspenseful parts, and one guy does get eaten; but he didn’t follow the rules, so that’s what happens when you’re dealing with trolls.

Troll Hunter is a Norwegian film. I’m finding a lot of Norwegian films that I like 🙂 It is beautifully shot because Norway is gorgeous with lots of waterfalls, which, as a desert dweller I enjoyed. The special effects were wonderful, and the acting great. I fully believe there are trolls in Norway.

This is a must-see film for writers. When you are asked to ‘make it real’ and you wonder how in the hell you can make imaginary creatures or events real, this movie will show you. Not with flash, but with knowing all the simple little details, knowing how something fits into our world, and the rules that they follow.

Even if you don’t write, watch this movie. It’s great. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. This is a film I could own and watch over and over again. Teen should be fine if they read well enough to follow sub-titles. There is some violence and cussing.
This trailer makes the movie look a lot scarier then I thought it was.

15 responses »

  1. I just put this movie in my queue last week! I mainly did it because part of my book takes place in Norway and I wanted to get a good feel for the setting, but I also love Norse mythology and thought the troll bit would be fun. I started to watch it a few days ago, but my son didn’t want to deal with subtitles. Now that I’ve seen the troll, I may be able to convince him otherwise!

  2. Wow! Just going by the summary, this is not the sort of film that I would be interested in. However, watching that trailer – and getting some glimpses of the troll design – I’m totally intrigued. Definitely need to check it out!

  3. I love Scandinavian films, too… The original Swedish version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was so great, I doubt I can stomach the American version. Thanks for the suggestion. Dig your enthusiasm! 🙂

    • I agree it was a great movie- but I was so unprepared for hte rape scene- I hadn’t read the book- and I don’t do well with those. So I’m not sure I’ll watch the other two. But I won’t be watching the American one- even for Daniel Craig.

  4. That definitely looks scary! Movie previews are so deceiving nowadays. I remember there was one movie (though can’t recall which) that looked hilarious, only to find that they used every single funny line in the 60 second trailer and there was nothing left in the rest of the movie.

  5. Pingback: Be a Tweep, Not a Tool Part 2–Beware the #FF Fire Hose « Kristen Lamb's Blog

Leave a comment