Anti-Zen Desire Nothing the Universe takes it as a Challenge

Standard
Alica Mckenna Johnson, zen, anti-zen, Edward Dalmulde

Photo by Edward Dalmulde

Desire is the source of all suffering, is a familiar quote. For normal people, I think it means that if you focus on what you don’t have, you don’t enjoy the bounty that surrounds you already.

For me it means don’t post, speak, or write your goals; the Universe takes them as the punch line and makes a joke.
If I say that I want to work out 3-5 days a week, within 2 weeks I will get sick or injure myself.

If I say I want to write 1000 words everyday my computer will break, I’ll get sick, or one of my work kids will lose it and I’ll be so exhausted from work that during my six hours off I’ll do nothing but sleep. (Oh, yes, this has so happened before.)

Now this isn’t to say I don’t have goals, hopes, and dreams. I do, we all do, but I just try to not let the Universe know what they are.

What about you? Can you share your desires, or does the Universe see it as a challenge to mess with you?

About alicamckennajohnson

Alica McKenna Johnson writes about snarky girls, kind boys, and the adults trying to keep them alive. After day dreaming for the first thirty years of life, Alica finally began writing her stories down, much to the delight of her readers. As Alica sits in her armchair at home dreaming of traveling the world, her diverse characters explore for her listening to music, seeing the sights, and eating exotic foods.

4 responses »

  1. hiding your goals from the universe… does that work?? i am feeling it right now actually. 14 weeks pregnant and stll feeling like complete shit. i thought this was done on week 12. what the hell?? I have a life to live you know. napping and nausea just don’t make life super grand at the moment. 😛

Leave a Reply

