Be careful what you wish for, you might get a two-year-old!

Standard

Or How the Universe helped me to do only one thing at a time.

Photo by Danilobu


A while back I was venting/complaining/sharing about how I multi-task constantly!

At this point I’m more likely to read on my laptop than my Kindle, because I can knit while reading on my laptop! Seriously the multi-tasking has gone too far.

Anyway, I guess I inadvertently “asked” the universe for help with my multi-tasking issues, because I now have a two-year-old. It is very difficult to multi-task with a two-year-old around.

I have never taken care of a child this young, and typically we aren’t licensed for under three years old, but with the foster care crisis in Arizona, we got special permission. And now I have a two-year-old.

He is very sweet, and smart, and I adore him, and he is “helping” me break my multi-tasking habit. Well, at least tone it down. Now that he’s been with me a while, I can do simple things while watching him, but most of the time I need to focus on him.

Part of me is happy to have the forced break. Of course, my writing routine is shot to hell, but I am working on a new one.

Now to help you all avoid the dreaded “Be careful what you wished for you just might get it,” I offer my standard procedures before praying/visualizing/asking for ANYTHING.

I sit down with pencil and paper. I state very clearly and out loud. “This is a rough draft. I am not asking for anything at this time.” Then I write down what I want.

Photographed by Gerard Warburg


“Dear Buddha, I would like a pony.”

I look it over, is there any way this can bite me in the ass? Do I have a sick relative with ponies? If he dies would they be left to me? Can I care for a pony? Do I want a pony or just the stable boy?

All good questions. Once answered, re-write, still in pencil and stating that this is a rough draft only!

“Dear Buddha, I would like to be able to ride horses more frequently. I want to find the time in my current schedule, and I would like enough money to be able to pay the rental fees. I ask this for my good and the greater good of those I know.”

Yes, yes, it is spiritual/ metaphysical legal speak, but trust me, it’s important.

Once you have written and re-written your request, have someone else read it over. This should be someone who loves you and doesn’t want a horse trailer to crash into your house in order to fulfill your wish.

Once you have a final copy, write it on nice paper in pen, then pray/meditate/visualize what you want. Add it to your vision board, altar, scrap book.

Good luck. And remember: be very clear about what you wish for and what you are willing to give up in order to get it!

About alicamckennajohnson

Alica McKenna Johnson writes about snarky girls, kind boys, and the adults trying to keep them alive. After day dreaming for the first thirty years of life, Alica finally began writing her stories down, much to the delight of her readers. As Alica sits in her armchair at home dreaming of traveling the world, her diverse characters explore for her listening to music, seeing the sights, and eating exotic foods.

7 responses »

  1. Aw, what an adorable two-year-old! Bravo, Alicia, for being a foster parent! Two-year-olds definitely put a damper on one’s writing time. Hopefully he’ll take long naps for you. I’m now caretaker of my grandson, almost 14 months, for nine hours a day. So the blogging, all social media, and writing has taken a big hit, but I’m a children’s author. And the thing I love more than writing for children is being around children, especially my grandchildren. I’m blessed with two so far, but don’t see my granddaughter as often as I’d like. A few years ago I wished for oodles of grandchildren. With four grown kids (three are married), I think I’ll get what I wished for. Now to wish for the perfect way to juggle it all!

Leave a Reply

