Foreign Film Friday- Calendar Girls

Standard

Calendar Girls

I love this movie! It’s such a beautiful story of friendship and pushing yourself past your boundaries and fears. And I have to say When ever I watch this movie I’m not as afraid of growing older. These are amazingly beautiful woman, full of life, and strength. I hope to live such a vibrate rich life, and I wouldn’t mind living in their adorable English Village either.

There are adult themes which young children might not understand- or you might not want them to see. Teens should be fine.

About alicamckennajohnson

Alica McKenna Johnson writes about snarky girls, kind boys, and the adults trying to keep them alive. After day dreaming for the first thirty years of life, Alica finally began writing her stories down, much to the delight of her readers. As Alica sits in her armchair at home dreaming of traveling the world, her diverse characters explore for her listening to music, seeing the sights, and eating exotic foods.

14 responses »

  1. i love this movie. it has that same feel as “waking ned devine” and “the vicar of dibley” and you know i love those. oh and that one where the widow grows pot. lol loved that one too. 🙂

  2. Love-Love-Love this Movie. It is so good. Unlike most movies, were the emphasis is on young and beautiful this one to me celebrates the joy of growing older and how wonderful it can be. Especially when we have friends to share it with friends who will love you even when you are being a shit. .And tell you when you are doing that.

  3. I loved this movie, too. I read an interview with Helen Mirren, and she said trying to get those actresses to take their clothes off was like pulling teeth. They were as skittish and shy as the women they portrayed. The whole thing is a hoot. I hear that the garden club the story is based on raised a ton of money, more than $3 million dollars for leukemia research. Good on them.

  4. Adored this movie! It was fabulous. It was also like sticking a big tongue out at the young-thin-beautiful message seen everywhere else. Older women can be gorgeous too. The acting in this film is brilliant. I’m so glad you spotlighted this movie this time around, Alica!

  5. I am watching this as soon as I can, Alica. Thanks so much for the recommendation. It’s perfect for me since I am really feeling so old these days. Might have something to do with my 17-year-old possibly leaving the nest next year?
    Patti

  6. I love this movie too! Our society is so hyper-focused on youth being the measure of beauty. It’s nice to see older women portrayed as vibrant and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

