Wise, Witty, and Wacky Wednesday

Standard

I’ve decided to do the first campaign challenge for my Wednesday blog- the rules are below. I’ve never done any flash fiction because my grammar is so poor I get horribly nervous posting anything that hasn’t been reviewed several times over- but I don’t have a blog for today so here we go ๐Ÿ™‚

Write a short story/flash fiction story in 200 words or less, excluding the title. It can be in any format, including a poem. Begin the story with the words, โ€œThe door swung openโ€ These four words will be included in the word count.

If you want to give yourself an added challenge (optional), use the same beginning words and end with the words: “the door swung shut.” (also included in the word count)

For those who want an even greater challenge, make your story 200 words EXACTLY!

The door swung open. For a moment Zopher wondered whether this was a good idea. The room was disgusting. Filth and vermin covered every surface. The young man heโ€™d come for shook as he knelt naked on the floor, his bruised, yellow, body barely more then a skeleton.
Zopher stepped out of the light and into Scott Hillmanโ€™s personal hell. โ€œCould you please put the syringe down so we may speak?โ€
Blood-shot eye slowly raised, taking in Zopherโ€™s translucent form. โ€œAm I already dead?โ€ Scott pulled the rusted needle from his arm, leaving a trickle of blood.
Zopher smiled and knelt on the floor. โ€œNo you are not, although your soul cries out for death.โ€
โ€œI do. I want to die.โ€
โ€œI have a deal for you. Let me have your life.โ€
โ€œLike a vampire?โ€
Zopher chuckled. โ€œNo, Scott. I will enter your body and you will walk through that doorway. I will accept all your karma from this life, and you will move on.โ€
โ€œWill it hurt?โ€
โ€œNo.โ€
โ€œDo it.โ€
Zopher slid into the body. As pain and stench assaulted him Zopher wondered if heโ€™d made the right choice, but it was too late. The door swung shut.

Here it is- hope you enjoying, and it’s exactly 200 words.

Okay I couldn’t leave you without something wacky- so here is a literal video- if you haven’t seen these before I hope you enjoy it- it cracked me up.

52 responses »

  1. Hi Alica!

    I have to be honest, only read your flash fiction up to the word “vermin.” (I promise to check it out later.) I’m eating dinner while I catch up on my blog reading. I watched the literal video, however, and it was HYSTERICAL! Thanks so much for making my Wednesday more wacky and wonderful. ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. Its an interesting story, thanks for posting it on FB and it IS good, I am too embarrassed to mention I wrote a story for the Campaign on Fb, just too scared,
    I also like the name of your blog . ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. An unusual story. …great entry for the challenge.

    Would like to invite you to The Rule of Three Blogfest —a month-long extravaganza in the fictional town of Renaissance this October, with some great prizes, comment love, and of course, a lot of exposure for your writing.

    Zopher and Scott could come to the town of Renaissance, and fit right in! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. First of all, I love the name Zopher — a perfect fit for a character as strange and as curious as he is! There’s a grittiness to this story that I approve of. I love reading dirty, earthy fiction!

    Good work, Alica! Don’t be nervous about showing the world your writing — that’s the only way any of us will ever get better. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. HI, Alica,

    I really enjoyed your story…. Since I am a judge, I gently want to point out there were a few grammar errors. However, your story did make my top five list. Congratulations, and good luck with the rest of the challenge.

    • Thank you so much for looking past my grammar- it is my greatest weakness- would I be able to fix it beofre the final round of judging? I am thrilled to be chosen either way, and I’ll have someone look over my work before I post next time.

Leave a Reply

